However, if you served your spouse by mail outside of Michigan, he will have 28 days to respond. If you decide to hire an attorney, you should research possible candidates to find one that is right for you. Disputes often arise during this phase of a divorce if the two parties disagree as to who should receive which assets or property.
If you meet the income guidelines, a judge will sign an order eliminating all fees for the duration of the case. If husband and wife does not have a possibility to agree about the division of their property in a peaceful way the judge will divide it according to the following factors:. If you and your spouse are still able to talk and make mutual decisions, you might be able to get an uncontested divorce, which will save you a lot of time and money. The clerk of court will charge a filing fee, but if you can't afford to pay, don't worry.
They do all the work for you and give guidance. Each parents lifestyle and moral principles.
If you still have questions after reading this article, you should consult with an experienced family law attorney. The divorce can end with a written settlement agreement, if you and your spouse can agree on all the terms of the divorce.
Practice Area Please select... Annulment of the marriage in Michigan Not every marriage can be annulled and the interested person needs some particular reasons for it: The petition asks for the names and addresses of both spouses, and the reason for divorce.
Thank you very much!
Property acquired before marriage or during the marriage as a gift or inheritance, or bought during marriage with separate property. Want an easy divorce?
According to this formula such factors play an important role in child support calculation:. However, you should ask the court clerk if this is available in your county, because in most cases you cannot personally serve your spouse. How to get assistance that will help cover divorce costs.
Decide whether to request spousal support.
You will need to wait 60 days before the judge can rule your divorce final. In Michigan, however, you can file for divorce by yourself and petition the court to waive the filing fees. Our easy-to follow filing instructions will walk you through the process.
Why us? Yes No. You must file a petition for divorce in the county where you or your spouse lives. What is an Uncontested Divorce in Michigan? To begin the process for an answer, visit http: